Cycle Wellington endorses Wellington City Council and GWRC candidates

Please vote at Council elections. Your vote counts.

We need a Wellington Mayor and Councillors who will continue to build bike lanes, set safe speeds, and make our streets safe and lovely for everyone in our community.

Our endorsements are based on each candidate's track record and commitments. Cycle Wellington recommends you rank these candidates at the top:


  • Tory Whanau, Independent
  • Andy Foster, Together for Wellington

Takapū/Northern General Ward

  • Jenny Condie, Futureproof Wellington
  • Ben McNulty, Labour
  • Robyn Parkinson, Green
  • James Sullivan, Independent

Wharangi/Onslow-Western General Ward

  • Rebecca Matthews, Labour
  • Lachlan Patterson, Green
  • Alexander Garside, Independent

Pukehīnau/Lambton General Ward

  • Tamatha Paul, Green Party Aotearoa
  • Iona Pannett, Independent
  • Afnan Al-Rubayee, Labour
  • Jonathan Markwick, Independent

Motukairangi/Eastern General Ward

  • Teri O'Neill, Labour
  • Luana Scowcroft, Green
  • Sarah Free, Independent

Paekawakawa/Southern General Ward

  • Laurie Foon, Green
  • Jonathan Coppard, Action on Climate
  • Nureddin Abdurahman, Labour

Te Whanganui-a-Tara Māori Ward

  • Matthew Reweti, Labour
  • Nīkau Wi Neera, Green

Tawa Community Board

  • Jill Day
  • Miriam Moore

Greater Wellington Regional Council (Pōneke/Wellington candidates)

  • Thomas Nash
  • Yadana Saw
  • Roger Blakeley
  • Daran Ponter
  • Chris Calvi-Freeman
  • Chris Montgomerie
  • Thomas Bryan

You can also check these sites for advice: